Damselfly After The Rain

I went out early after it rained during the night to see what I could find. I was looking for raindrops or maybe damselflies in the grasses with water drops. I found quite a few interesting subjects to photograph. I used a Sigma 150mm Macro with a Canon Series II 1.4X teleconverter so I did not have to get right on top of my subjects. I tried different f/stops to get a variety of backgrounds, more blurry wider open or a little more distracting when stopped down more. Wider open did not give me enough depth of field to get the whole damselfly, Stopped down gave me more depth of field on the damselfly and raindrops, but gave me a busier background. I also shot many series at a wider open f/stop with a series of focus points to combine in an image stack which will give me more depth of field with a nice smooth background. I will post those later.

The featured opening photo was shot at f/5.6 for a smooth non-distracting background, but not as much detail on the damsel, but you get the face and some water drops. You see the expression on the face stands out and a water drop.

damselfly cu yard v1 f16

Damselfly @ f/16 – more depth of field but background gets more distracting.

damselfly cu yard v1_43G5903

Damselfly at f/22. More depth of field, background more distracting.

damselfly cu yard v2 f22_43G5870

Damselfly @ f/13. Inbetween the first 2.

damselfly cu yard v2 f32

Damselfly @ f/32. More depth of field, more detail in damselfly, more raindrops in focus, but background gets more distracting.

damselfly cu yard v2_43G5871

Damselfly @ f/13. Enough depth of field for interest. Enough detail in the Damsefly and raindrops with a not overly distracting background.

damselfly cu yard v2_43G5872

Damselfly @ f/13. Again, enough depth of field for interest. Enough detail in the Damsefly and raindrops with a not overly distracting background.

damselfly cu yard v2_43G5903

Damselfly @ f/22.

damselfly cu yard_v1 43G5863

Damselfly @ f/4. Very selective focus. Keeps your eye on the face and the expression on the face. Gives a “Dreamy” soft look.

Leave a Reply

