Little Muskrat

While I was photographing around the Black-crowned Night-heron, in the previous post, this tiny muskrat came right up to where I was standing. I had added extension tubes & a 1.4X telconverter to my telephoto to try finding some Dragonflies and could only focus in an area of 3 feet to maybe 6 feet away. While not a baby or “Kitten” as the young are called, it was probably a couple of months old. With my setup I could pretty much only get his eye with a little area around the eye.  He kept me company for a few minutes until I started to take off the extension tubes, thinking maybe I could get more of his body, but he scurried off back in the water and swam away. While setup for the dragonflies, I also shot a 2 shot panorama with the same setup of this Canada Goose, which was keeping me company all morning. I shot the left side with the eye, than moved the camera a little to the right to blend in the beak in focus.

Canada goose cu v1_43G0727

Leave a Reply

