Hummingbird Clearwing Moth On Butterfly Bush

This Hummingbird Clearwing Moth seems to like this Butterfly Bush. It keeps coming back, day after day, spending about  5 minutes at a time. I cannot get very close, otherwise it flies off, so I am about 15 feet away. I am using a 400mm lens, with a 1.4X teleconverter, on a Canon 1.3X crop camera body. After adjusting files in Adobe Camera Raw, I use a fairly severe crop. Even so I thought they came out with quite a bit of detail. I also had to use a High Shutter Speed with a High ISO to stop the wing movement as best I could.

_43G6998 pond hummingbird moth v2

_43G6961 pond hummingbird moth v1

_43G6956 pond hummingbird moth v2

_43G6958 pond hummingbird moth v3 port

_43G6949 pond hummingbird moth v4
_43G6942 pond hummingbird moth v2

_43G6943 pond hummingbird moth v2

_43G6923 pond hummingbird moth v4

 

Leave a Reply

