Clapper Rail

While I photographing a group of birds out in the water, out of the corner of my eye I noticed something moving on the shoreline by the Mangrove roots. I saw this Clapper Rail dart out in the open and look around. I managed to get a couple of quick shots before it disappeared back into the dense roots and vegetation. It was there so briefly and then disappeared that I originally thought it was a Sora. It was not until I was working on my files that I saw it was a Rail and was happy with the few shots that I managed to get.

_43G6517 v2

Clapper Rail
Caon EOS 1D MkIV, Canon 400mm DO f/4 IS lens, Canon 1.4X teleconverter, f/11, 1/800 sec, ISO 400

Leave a Reply

