Anhinga Portrait

I came across this male Anhinga sitting on a branch, drying himself in the sun. He did not seem to bothered by me and I was able to get fairly close and get some portraits. You can clearly see the very pointed beak which it uses to spear fish under water and it’s red eye.

_43G1611 v3

Canon EOS 1D MkIV, Canon 400mm f/4 DO Lens, Canon 1.4X Series III Teleconverter, f/7.1, 1/400 to 1/800 sec, +0.67 exposure compensation, ISO 1250

_43G1648 v2

_43G1651

10 Comments on “Anhinga Portrait

  1. Hey I’ve browsed through a few of your older posts as well, and I just want to say your photograph is great. Would it be ok if I featured your work on my blog one day? I write comedy articles about nature and wildlife (AnimalsAreRad.wordpress.com) and it would be great to get some original art work in there. Let me know!

  2. Pingback: It Murders Stuff With Its Face (The Anhinga) | Animals Are Rad

Leave a Reply

